Fair   63.0F  |  Forecast »
Bookmark and Share Email this page Email Print this page Print

Best of Toledo

bot_splash
Best Local Eateries Best Local Media Best Local Businesses, Schools & Orginizations Best Local Healthcare
Best Local Atheletes Best Local Transport Best Local Bar's Best Local Retail
Best Local Music Best Local Proffesionals Best Local Art Best Local Stylists

BBQ

Shorty’s True American Roadhouse -  mancys.com/shortys

Runner up: City Barbeque

Burger Joint

Burger Bar 419 - burgerbar419.com

Runner up: Bar 145

Chinese

Wei Wei - facebook.com/pages/weiweichinese

Runner up: QQ Kitchen

Diner

Star Diner

Runner up: Mayberry Diner

Fine Dining

Mancy’s  - mancys.com

Runner up: Element 112

Food Truck

Rosie’s Rolling Chef - rosiesrollingchef.com

Runner up: Taco Truck

Italian Restaurant

Mancy’s Italian - mancys.com

Runner up: Rosie’s Italian Grille

Seafood Restaurant

Real Seafood Company - realseafoodcotoledo.com

Runner up: Bluewater Grille

Steakhouse

Mancy’s Steakhouse - mancys.com

Runner up: Rockwell’s

Soup

Chowders ‘N Moor - chowdersnmoor.com

Runner up: Stella’s





Bakery

Bakery Unlimited - bakeryunlimitedtoledo.com

Runner up: The Baker’s Kitchen & Thrush’s Bakery (Tie)

Sushi Restaurant

Kyota Ka - kyotoka.com

Runner up: Spicy Tuna

Mexican Restaurant

El Camino Real - elcaminorealtoledo.com

Runner up: El Vaquero

Hot Dog

Rudy’s Hot Dog - rudyshotdog.com

Runner up: Tony Packo’s

Thai Restaurant

Bangkok Kitchen - bangkokkitchenmaumee.com

Runner up: Rose Thai

Indian Restaurant

Tandoor of Toledo - tandooroftoledo.com

Runner up: The Indian Jewel of Toledo

Middle Eastern Restaurant

The Beirut - beirutrestaurant.com

Runner up: The Grape Leaf Diner

Pizza

Marco’s Pizza - marcos.com

Runner up: The Original Gino’s Pizza 

Tea Shop

Elaine’s Tea Shoppe - wildorchidteas.com/blog/

Runner up: Clara J’s 219

Independent Coffeehouse

Black Kite Coffee and Pies - facebook.com/BlackKiteCoffee

Runner up: Plate 21

 

Socialite

Christine Senack - girlintheglasscity.com

Runner up: Kristen Mollenkopf

Religious Leader

Pastor Lee Powell (Cedar Creek Church) - cedarcreek.tv

Runner up: Ben Snyder (Cedar Creek Church)

Local Hipster

Dustin Hostetler - dustinameryhostetler.com

Runner up: Ryan Bunch

Community Role Model

Chrys Peterson

Runner up: Mike Bell

Best Toledoan you love to hate

Carty Finkbeiner

Runner up: Mike Bell

Person we miss

Carty Finkbeiner

Runner up: Mike Bell

Lawyer

Linde Webb - www.lindewebb.com

Runner up: Richard Chamberlain

Real Estate Agent

Donna Friesner (Danberry Realty) - danberry.com

Runner up: Greg Cassidy (Flex)

Professor

Clint Longenecker (University of Toledo) - utoledo.edu

Runner up: Steven Christman (University of Toledo)

Electrician

Dad Patchen - dadpatchen.com

Runner up: Schnieder and Sons Electric

Plumber

Mike Petrie (Petrie Plumbing) - 419-382-5380

Runner up: Anthony Wayne Sewer & Drain

 

Media Journalist

Taylor Dungjen - taylordungjen.com

Runner up: Mary Helen Darah

Sportscaster

Dan Cummings (WTOL Ch. 11) - toledonewsnow.com

Runner up: Dave Holmes (WTVG Ch. 13)

Weathercaster

Jay Berschback (WTVG Ch. 13) - 13abc.com

Runner up: Blizzard Bill Spencer (WTVG Ch. 13)

Anchor Duo

Diane Larson & Lee Conklin - 13abc.com

Runner up: Chrys Peterson & Jerry Anderson

Local TV Station

WTVG Ch. 13 - 13abc.com

Runner up: WTOL Ch. 11

Radio Station

92.5 KIss FM - 925kissfm.com

Runner up: 99.9 K100 FM

Morning Show

Morning Rush with  Kiss FM - 925kissfm.com

Runner up: Bob & Tom WIOT

Local Facebook Page

Smash Toledo - facebook.com/SmashToledo

Runner up: Girl in the Glass City, Christine Senack

Local Twitter account

Toledo Tweets - twitter.com/Toledo_Tweets

Runner up: Patrick @supthickey

 

Eye Doctor

Dr. Dino Costa - toledoeyemd.com

Runner up: Dr. Stephen Reed

Dentist
Dr. Jon Frankel - jonfrankeldentistry.com

Runner up: Dr. Nadeem Khan

Orthodontist

Drs. Simon, Haerian and Ludwig Orthodontics - perfectbraces.com
Runner up: Dr. Kay

Chiropractor

Dr. Andrew Wright (ABA Family Chiropractic) - abachiropractic.com

Runner up: Dr. Brian Royer

Alternative Health Care

Dr. Bryan Royer (Harmony Chiropractic) - harmonychirocenter.com

Runner up: Serenity Health and Wellness Center

Plastic Surgeon

Dr. Frank Barone - frankbaronemd.com

Runner up: Dr. Jeff Kessler

Doctor

Dr. Henry Naddaf - toledoclinic.com

Runner up: Dr. Kelly Emch

Dermatologist

Drs. John & Tim Anders - andersderm.com

Runner up: Dr. Hope Mitchell

Ear, Nose and Throat

Drs. Oliver Jenkins and Christopher Perry - toledoclinicent.com

Runner up: Dr. Allan Rubin

Vet

Dr. Bob Esplin (Sylvania Vet) - sylvaniavet.com

Runner up: Dr. Bart Soeder (Heatherdowns Vet)

High School

Whitmer High School - washloc.k12.oh.us

Runner up: Central Catholic

College

University of Toledo - utoledo.edu

Runner up: BGSU

Suburban Downtown

Perrysburg

Runner up: Sylvania

Festival

German American Festival - germanamericanfestival.net

Runner up: Old West End Festival

Institution to Show Off

Toledo Museum of Art - toledomuseum.org

Runner up: Toledo Zoo

Thing Toledo Needs

More Downtown Development

Runner up: Trader Joes

Charity

Cherry Street Mission - cherrystreetmission.org

Runner up: Toledo Humane Society

Bank

Huntington - huntington.com

Runner up: Fifth Third

Design Firm

Ulrich Pinciotti Design - ulrichpinciotti.com

Runner up: Madhouse

Landscaper

Omni-Site Ohio - facebook.com/pages/Omni-Site-Ohio/

Runner up: Black Diamond Lawn & Garden

 

Dry Cleaner

Lasalle Cleaners - lasallecleaners.com

Runner up: Twin Oaks Cleaners

Place to Adopt a Pet

Toledo Area Humane Society - toledoareahumanesociety.org

Runner up: Planned Pethood

 

Local Grocery

Walt Churchill’s Market - waltchurchillsmarket.com

Runner up: Sautter's Markets

Ethnic Grocery

Sofo Foods - shopsofos.com
Runner up: San Marco's

Natural Food Store

Health Foods by Claudia - healthfoodsbyclaudia.com

Runner up: Bassett's Health Foods

Hotel or Motel

Hilton Garden Inn (Levis Commons) - hiltongardeninn.com
Runner up: Holiday Inn French Quarter

Wedding Venue

Toledo Art Museum - toledomuseum.org

Runner up: Toledo Club

Event Planner

Bee for the Day - beefortheday.com

Runner up: Elite Events

Florist

Bartz Vivano - bartzviviano.com

Runner up: Hafner Florist

Caterer

Michael's Cafe & Gourmet Catering - michaelsoftoledo.com

Runner up: Premier Catering

Limo Service

Childers Limousine Service - www.childerslimousine.com

Runner up: Birmingham Limousine Service

Romantic Getaway

Belamere Suites - belameresuites.com

Runner up: Maumee Bay State Park Lodge

Best New Store

Gabe's - mygabes.com

Runner up: Art Van

Locally owned Women's Boutique

Lady C Distinctive Ladies Fashion - ladycshop.com

Runner up: Sophie's Sister/Sophia Lustig

Locally owned Men's Boutique

Neil's Men’s Shop - neilsmensshop.com

Runner up: V Couture

Resale Shop

Clothes Mentor - clothesmentor.com

Runner up: Plato's Closet

Thrift Shop

Goodwill - goodwillnwohio.com

Runner up: Salvation Army

Tailor

Phyllis Sheets (My Shop on Rugby Drive) - myshoponrugbydrive.com

Runner up: Ali Awada

Jewelry Store

Harold Jaffe Jewelers - haroldjaffe.com

Runner up: David Fairclough

Eye Wear

Optical Arts - opticalartsinc.com

Runner up: Van Optical

Greenest Business

Phoenix Earth Food Cooperative - phoenixearthfoodco-op.com

Runner up: Sweet Cheeks

Greenhouse

Hoen's Garden Center & Landscaping - hoensgreenhouse.com

Runner up: Whiteford Greenhouse

Mall

Franklin Park Mall - shoppingfranklinparkmall.com

Runner up: Shops at Fallen Timbers

Spiritual Shop

Reger's Church Supplies & Religious Gifts - regers.com

Runner up: Angela's Angels

Home boutique

Paula Brown Shop - paulabrownshop.com

Runner up: Lily's at Levis

Antique Store

Leffler's Antiques - lefflersantiques.com

Runner up: Maumee Antique Mall

Furniture Store

Art Van - artvan.com

Runner up: Banner Mattress & Furniture Co.

Paint Store

John’s Color Concepts - benjaminmoore.com

Runner up: The Andersons

Liquor Store

Joseph's Beverage Center - josephsbeveragecenter.com

Runner up: Pauken Wine & Liquor

Smoke Shop

The Cigar Affair - thecigaraffair.com

Runner up: Loonar Station

Photographer

Jem Photography - momentsbyjem.com

Runner up: Man Overboard Images

Psychic / Astrologer

Janet Amid - janetamid.com

Runner up: Kimmie Rose

Pet Grooming

Karnik Pet Lodging and Dog Daycare - karnik.us

Runner up: Sylvania Vet

Place to Buy a Car

Yark Automotive Group - yarkauto.com

Runner up: Dave White Chevrolet

Airport

Toledo Express Airport - toledoexpress.com

Runner up: Detroit Metro Airport

Carwash & Detailer

Russ’ Auto Wash - russautowash.com

Runner up: Expresso Car Wash

Auto mechanic

Tireman - thetireman.com

Runner up: Majestic Auto

Hair Stylist

Amy Colvin (Pyure) - pyuresalonspa.com

Runner up:  Mary Anne Johnson (Willow Creek Salon)

Women’s Salon

Pyure Salon and Spa - pyuresalonspa.com

Runner up: Reve Salon and Spa

Aesthetician

Angie Scott (Faces) - skinbyfaces.com

Runner up: Katie Pelz

Men’s barbershop

Rooster’s Men’s Grooming Center - roostersmgc.com

Runner up: Lady Jane’s

Day Spa

Reve Salon and Spa - revesalonandspa.com

Runner up: Pyure

Wellness Center

Serenity Health & Wellness - serenityspamaumee.com

Runner up: Wildwood Promedica

Nail Salon

Pyure - pyuresalonandspa.com

Runner up: Jonathon Khoi Nail Spa

Yoga Studio

Tonic - tonicmaumee.com

Runner up: Bikram Yoga Toledo

Dance Studio

Paulette’s Studio of Dance - dancetoledo.com/

Runner up: Inspire Dance Company

Massage Therapist

Joanie Donavan (Ultimate Mind Body) - facebook.com/ubmsmas

Runner up: Meghan Alexander (Simply Massage)

Personal Trainer

Chris & Jen (Renegade Fitness) - renegadefitnessbootcamp.com

Runner up: Nick Beakas Personal Training

Athletic Club

Wildwood Athetic Club - promedica.org/wildwoodathleticclub

Runner up: Planet Fitness

Best New Bar

Social Gastropub - socialgastropub.com

Runner up: 5th Street Pub

Irish pub

Blarney Irish Pub - theblarneyirishpub.com

Runner up: Claddagh
 

Best Bar to Network in

Bar145° - bar145toledo.com

Runner up: The Attic

Best Girls Night Out Bar

Bar145° - bar145toledo.com

Runner up: Bar Louie

Sports Bar

Buffalo Wild Wings Grill & Bar - buffalowildwings.com

Runner up: Fricker’s

College Bar

Jake’s Saloon - (419) 725-1234

Runner up: Chasers

Gay Bar

Bretz Nightclub - facebook.com/bretz.bar

Runner up: RHouse

Trivia Night

Buffalo Wild Wings Grill & Bar - buffalowildwings.com

Runner up: Ralphie’s Sports Eatery

Country Bar

Sneaky Petes’s Saloon - facebook.com/pages/Sneaky-Petes-Saloon

Runner up: Uncontested

Strip Club

Platinum Showgirls - www.puretoledo.com

Runner up: Hush Showgirls

Best bar that makes you Feel like you’re not in Toledo

Hollywood Casino - hollywoodcasinotoledo.com

Runner up: Barr’s Public House

Best Band

The Eight Fifteens - eightfifteens.com

Runner up: The Rivets

Live Music Bar

The Village Idiot - villageidiotmaumee.com

Runner up: Bar145

New Act

The Bradberries - thebradberries.com

Runner up: Own It

High School Band

Whitmer - washloc.k12.oh.us/whitmer

Runner up: Anthony Wayne Generals

Open Mic Night

Bier Stube - bierstubetoledo.com

Runner up: The Bronze Boar

Best Blues & Jazz

Chris Shutters - reverbnation.com/chrisshutters

Runner up: Jeff Williams

 

Hip Hop

Raine Wilder - rainewilder.com

Runner up: B. Wills

 

Singer

Jeff Stewart - jeffstewartmusic.com

Runner up: Chris Shutters

DJ

Jason Kelley (Book That DJ) - bookthatdj.com

Runner up: DJ Javier (Rico Sounds)

Recording Studio

Little Elephant Recording Studio - littleelephantlive.com

Runner up: Firefly Studios

Local Music Store

Durdel’s - durdels.com

Runner up: Rettig Music

Music Teacher

Don Coats - freewebs.com/donandrachelcoats/aboutdon.htm

Runner up: Justin Roaders & Ray Novak (tie)

Supporter of Local Arts

The Arts Commission -  theartscommission.org

Runner up: Toledo School for the Arts

Independent Gallery

Hudson Gallery - hudsongallery.net

Runner up: American Gallery

Local Art Event

Crosby Festival of Arts - toledogarden.org

Runner up: Art Walks

Art Photographer

Seth Foley - sethfoley.photoshelter.com

Runner up: Tina Gionis

Tattoo Artist

Sailor (Rob) Woody - iatattoo.com

Runner up: Steven “Fish” Warner

2d Artist

Skott Horn

Runner up: Jerry Gray

3d Artist

Richard Reed

Runner up: Tom Lingeman

Literary Artist 

Kayla Williams, Lorraine Cipriano - facebook.com/womenunbound

Runner up: Michael Kocinski

Local Theater Group

The Toledo Repertoire Theatre - toledorep.org

Runner up: Children’s Theater Workshop

Live Theater venue

The Valentine Theater - valentinetheatre.com

Runner up: The Toledo Repertoire Theatre

Place To Buy Local Art

American Gallery

Runner up: Hudson Gallery

Gallery for Art

The Toledo Museum of Art - toledomuseum.org

Runner up: Hudson Gallery

Local High School Coach

Jerry Bell (Whitmer)

Runner up: Greg Dempsey (Central Catholic)

High School Team

Whitmer Panthers - washloc.k12.oh.us/whitmer

Runner up: Central Catholic Fighting Irish

Bowling Alley

Timbers Bowling Lanes - timbersbowling.com

Runner up: Southwyck Bowling Lanes

Martial Arts Studio

Kempo Martial Arts Center - kempomania.com

Runner up: All American Karate

Bike Shop

Wersell’s Bike and Ski Shop - wersellsbikeandskishop.com

Runner up: Reggie’s Bike Shop

Ballet

Toledo Ballet  - toledoballet.net

Runner up: Cassandra’s Ballet School
 

Old to new | New to old
Feb 26, 2014 02:44 pm
 Posted by  patchouliflower

Sailor Woody!!!!

Feb 28, 2014 01:49 am
 Posted by  Lover

It's called Social. A gastropub... Not The Social. Clearly, the paper missed the mark on both accounts. As an avid reader the side note leaves a bitter taste in my mouth. You award am establishment but feel the need to put a rather interesting side note. Either give it to "The Social" or not. Bad journalism.

Add your comment: